Home Live trainings Best DevSecOps Certifications and Trainings

Best DevSecOps Certifications and Trainings


Agile software development and DevOps practices help developers reduce development time, improve collaboration and innovation, and ensure scalability and reliability. One thing that hasn’t always been addressed – but is getting more and more attention – is security in the software development lifecycle.

DevSecOps is the practice of shifting security to the left to involve security throughout the SDLC rather than just before or after deployment.

Due to its growing importance, a number of DevSecOps certifications and trainings are available today. They apply to DevSecOps-specific jobs, such as DevSecOps engineers, managers, specialists, and consultants, as well as software developers and engineers, security professionals, IT managers, auditors, and other security professionals. computing.

These certifications can help professionals deepen their knowledge of DevSecOps and further their careers in the space. Courses and trainings also allow candidates to explore their interests in a structured environment. Certifications are beneficial to organizations because their employees or candidates must demonstrate that they have the skills and knowledge necessary to collaborate and implement security-by-design practices to achieve them.

Let’s take a look at some of the best DevSecOps certifications and training.

1. DevOps Institute DevSecOps Foundation and 2. DevSecOps Practitioner

DevOps Institute offers two DevSecOps certifications. Its DevSecOps Foundation course teaches candidates the basics of secure software development. The course, which has no prerequisites, focuses on the benefits of moving security to the left, building strong relationships between developers and security teams, and implementing security by design without sacrificing the speed and scalability of SDLC.

DevOps Institute’s DevSecOps Practitioner is designed for candidates looking to advance their technical DevSecOps knowledge. This course provides guidance on security best practices, methods, and tools in the SDLC using real-world scenarios and case studies. It is recommended to obtain the DevSecOps Foundation certification before pursuing the Practitioner certification.

The DevSecOps Foundation and Practitioner multiple-choice exams are offered online. They each require a pass mark of 65%.

3. DevSecOps EXIN Manager

EXIN’s DevSecOps Manager is an advanced certification that covers DevOps and security management. This exam is designed for those pursuing a leadership or management role in DevOps or DevSecOps. This career path is best suited for professionals interested in integrating development, security, and operations into the product lifecycle.

Candidates must pass three exams to receive certification:

  1. A basic course:
    1. EXIN Scrum Agile
    2. EXIN Lean IT
    3. EXIN DevOps
  2. EXIN DevOps Professional
  3. EXIN Information Security Management (ISO/IEC 27001) Professional

EXIN offers several exam exemptions and alternatives that can meet the course requirements.

4. GIAC Cloud Security Automation (GCSA)

The GCSA certification is designed for candidates who want to deepen their knowledge of cloud security and DevSecOps best practices, including developers, engineers, and security professionals. Topics covered include securing cloud services; use open source tools; and automate configuration management, continuous monitoring, and continuous integration/continuous delivery (CI/CD).

The GCSA exam, which has no prerequisites, is based on the SANS Institute’s five-day online or in-person SEC540 course: Cloud Security and DevSecOps Automation. The program covers five areas of intervention:

  1. DevOps Security Automation
  2. Cloud infrastructure security
  3. Cloud Security Operations
  4. Cloud Security as a Service
  5. Compliance as code

5. GSDC Certified DevSecOps Engineer Certification

The Global Skill Development Council (GSDC) Certified DevSecOps Engineer certification teaches recipients DevOps security best practices and how to use security as code in the SDLC. The exam is aimed at a number of professionals, including security practitioners, software engineers, IT managers, compliance teams, and managed service providers. Candidates should have a basic understanding of DevOps and coding before attempting this certification.

The DevSecOps Engineer certification program is divided into six sections:

  1. Introduction
  2. Overview of modern app development
  3. Introduction to containerization
  4. Information Security Overview
  5. Overview of Cloud Computing and Infrastructure-as-Code
  6. Introduction to CI/CD

6. Certified DevSecOps Professional (CDP)

The Practical DevSecOps CDP Certification course teaches candidates DevSecOps processes, tools, and techniques. The course also provides guidance on creating and maintaining a DevSecOps pipeline and using Software Composition Analysis (SCA), Static Application Security Testing (SAST), dynamic applications (DAST) and security as code.

Candidates should have a basic understanding of Linux commands and application security before enrolling in this course.

The CDP course has nine chapters, many of which feature demonstrations and hands-on practice:

  1. An introduction to the basics
  2. Introduction to the tools of the trade
  3. SDLC pipeline and secure CI/CD
  4. SCA in the CI/CD pipeline
  5. SAST in the CI/CD pipeline
  6. DAST in the CI/CD pipeline
  7. Infrastructure as code and its security
  8. Compliance as code
  9. Managing vulnerabilities with custom tools

Students earn the CDP certification after passing a 12-hour practical exam.

Practical DevSecOps offers three additional DevSecOps certifications:

  1. Certified DevSecOps Architect. This certification focuses on DevSecOps best practices for AWS. It is recommended that candidates complete the CDP certification before attempting this exam.
  2. Certified DevSecOps Leader. This leadership exam helps managers learn how to influence DevSecOps practices from a business perspective.
  3. Certified DevSecOps expert. This certification focuses on infrastructure as code, compliance as code, vulnerability management and more. Candidates must be CDP certified to attempt this exam.

DevSecOps training

Many training courses are available to help those looking to learn more about integrating security into the SDLC. DevSecOps training and courses include the following: